Week(s) in Review: 5/10 – 5/23

As you may have noticed, I am kind of Going Through It, so I haven’t been reading as much as I would like. Therefore, I decided to combine two weeks into one for this post.

undefined Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling – 5/14/20
5 stars
So, I’m sure you don’t need my review for Deathly Hallows, so I won’t give it. What I will say is that my rating is probably influenced by my nostalgia for the book, since it reminds me of the quiet, calming respite of reading away the insomniac hours of my turbulent childhood. Though it still holds up for me, your results may vary depending on your attachment to the series and your willingness to put yourself back in the mindset of a (junior) high school reader.

undefined Summon the Keeper by Tanya Huff – 5/17/20
5 stars
I knew anything that was so highly recommended by Seanan McGuire would have to be good, but I didn’t expect it to be this good. In this urban fantasy novel, Keepers exist to “repair the holes in the fabric of the universe” caused by metaphysical phenomena. One such Keeper, Claire, is tasked with closing a literal hole to hell. Alongside that main plot line, there’s enough “Oh my god just KISS already!” romance to keep me clutching my Kindle to my chest in agony (in a good way?). Also, talking cat. Talking cat!

undefined The Second Summoning by Tanya Huff – 5/22/20
5 stars
Who could have guessed that I would immediately want to read the next book in the series? Claire is still traveling wherever she’s summoned to repair those pesky tears in the universe and keep all us normal people oblivious. This entry also prominently features Claire’s super powerful teenage sister Diana who acts exactly like you’d expect a teenager with the power to affect reality would. It’s an all around good time! There’s a third book, which I will read when I won’t feel guilty for spending $9. (Unless someone wants to get it for me… *coughs* suzithesunshine [at] gmail [dot] com)

undefined Lying Next to Me by Gregg Olsen – 5/22/20
3 stars
A thriller involving two intertwined couples, this book was really interesting, but started to unravel for me around the twists and reveals. Not that they felt unrealistic or unsatisfying per se, I just felt like all of the characters turned out to be kind of terrible people and I didn’t really care what happened to them anymore. You may like it more if you don’t mind that sort of thing, since I know my moral compass is pretty strong, to the point where bad people don’t really matter to me.

undefined Love You To Death by Caroline Mitchell – 5/23/200
3 stars
A murder mystery / thriller of sorts, this book really had me thinking I had figured out what the ending would be! Then of course, the twist. I am a fan of a really good twist that seems unexpected but upon reflection, you realize was foreshadowed subtly all along. This one wasn’t that. This one left me going “Huh? That doesn’t even really make sense…” I gave it three stars, though, because before that, it was a really captivating book.

Be sure to check my 2019-in-2020 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge and 2020 Books posts for updates on how I’m doing on those fronts! Feel free to subscribe below to get email notifications for new posts!

Leave a comment