Week(s) in Review: 5/24 – 6/6

It’s another double week post because I am still having a hard time… Also, during this time frame I was building my new computer (it’s so cute!) and teaching myself Braille, so definitely had more things to occupy my time.

undefined Wall of Silence by Tracy Buchanan – 5/25/20
4 stars
This book is a murder mystery / family thriller that I actually really enjoyed. Melissa Byatt comes home to find her three children standing around their father as he lies on the floor bleeding from a stab wound. Though it’s clear one of the children is responsible, none of them are talking about it. While her husband is put in a coma to heal, Melissa must find out the truth before the police do. There are some serious twists and turns in this book and there was really never a dull moment. I’m recommending this to my mom, since she loves murder mysteries!

undefined The Immortalists by Kyle Mills – 5/26/20
3 stars
I thought this looked right up my alley, as it seemed like a science fiction influenced thriller. It wasn’t a bad book, but it lost my attention in the middle. The premise is very interesting: a researcher receives the secret work of a peer who died under suspicious circumstances. This research has the potential to change the way people live. As the plot moves forward, the book turns into a chase, sort of like one you’d see in an action thriller movie. Not my thing, but that’s just a personal preference.

undefined The Guineveres by Sarah Domet – 5/29/20
3 stars
A book about four girls, all named Guinevere, who, through various circumstances, have come to live in a convent. For the most part I enjoyed reading this. I feel like growing up sheltered stunts one’s emotional growth, and this book reflects that. Content warning for rape, though, so proceed with caution. Seeing who the girls became after they were allowed to leave was also a favorite part, since, though they all grew up in the same circumstances, they all turned out differently, reflecting their varied personalities.

undefined The Immortalists by Claire Benjamin – 6/3/20
4 stars
Four siblings visit a psychic who tells them when they will die. We follow the siblings lives as they move closer and closer to their prophesied death dates. Is it fate that predetermined their ends, or the knowing that caused them to make the decisions they did, ultimately leading to those ends? An intriguing and thought-provoking book for sure, though it did not help my existential anxiety very much…

undefined Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke – 6/3/20
4 stars
Aliens come to Earth and take over, but they’re pretty benevolent and help end poverty and war, unifying the people. There is little rebellion, though pockets of people believe that humanity has stopped striving for something, slowing our growth. Why did the Overlords come to Earth and what does that really mean for humanity. It’s a classic science fiction novel exploring the big questions. Unsurprisingly (since I think y’all know my taste by now), I enjoyed it a lot.

undefined Rubbish! The Archaeology of Garbage by William Rathje and Cullen Murphy – 6/5/20
3 stars
I wanted something a little less heavy after that last book, so I thought some zooming in would help. I think my aunt recommended this book! It was very interesting, but very science-y. Lots of tables, facts, and numbers. I learned a ton! (I’m not sure my boyfriend appreciated me telling him random facts about trash and recycling for like a week, though…) Check it out if you like learning a lot about very specific things.

undefined Quackery: A Brief History of the Worst Ways to Cure Everything by Lydia Kang and Nate Pederson – 6/6/20
4 stars
I believe they call these “microhistories!” I think my aunt also recommended this book, and I came across it on several lists as I was shopping for my sister, since she requested a “super specific book about the history or origin of a topic. Stuff like the history of Korean theater in the __ century.” I ended up getting her a book about the history of poisoning people, but I did consider this one! I had a great time with this book. You learn a lot, and it’s really funny sometimes, too. There’s lots of pictures in it as well. (I got little descriptions of them in my audio version.) I’m still trying to get my boyfriend to read it, but I’ll keep at it! Learn something new!

Be sure to check my 2019-in-2020 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge and 2020 Books posts for updates on how I’m doing on those fronts! Feel free to subscribe below to get email notifications for new posts!

One thought on “Week(s) in Review: 5/24 – 6/6

  1. Angelica Veliz June 16, 2020 / 7:25 am

    I read your introduction to “Wall of Silence” and thought, yes! A book for me! Although all your books this week caught my interest. I like thrillers and “The Immortalists” hit that; “The Guineveres” is about 4 girls (ok i wished sisters, but I’ll take it) who grew up in restricted environment and go on to (great, I’m assuming) different lives; “The Immortalists” HAS 4 siblings (yes!) but they all die, so it’s a maybe. Of course we all die, but I’m also avoiding existential thoughts…. So, “Childhood’s End” is not really my thing. I do like alien movies (but not “Alien”) though, so maybe a book would be alright. “Rubbish” and “Quackery” sound very interesting! The latter more so than former as with the former I will want to be a micro-trash person and freak out easily. Anyway, a lot of books that I want to read to this week! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment